Metropolitan city Palermo - List of Municipalities

Wednesday October 18 2017
Towns List Metropolitan city Palermo tourism common resort Sicily common Italian elections Palermo Municipalities of the Metropolitan City Palermo Sicily map List of Municipalities Street map monuments
Sicily info
Italian municipalities

Metropolitan city Palermo

Italian provinces and municipalities - Useful information and tour guide

- 82 Italian municipalities
- Population: 1.249.473 inhabitants
- Surface: 4.993,18 sq km
- Density: 250 inhabitants per square km

The regional capital, facing north on the Tyrrhenian Sea and is bordered to the west by the Province of Trapani, on the south by the provinces of Agrigento and Caltanissetta and east with the provinces of Messina and Enna.
City regional capital of Sicily, lies at the foot of Mount Pellegrino on the edge of the fertile Conca d'Oro.
It is home to active businesses and industries favored by the presence of the port.
Panormus ( "all port") was already inhabited in prehistoric times.
Punic city was called Ziz.
It was conquered by the Romans in 254-253 BC; until the first half of the ninth century was Byzantine possession and later buckwheat.
In the 1072 passed to the Normans, it became an important cultural center and home to the cosmopolitan court of Frederick II.
After the Angevin period flourished under the Aragonese.
It was later ruled by the Spanish, except for the Savoy government periods (1713-18) and Austrians (1720-35).
They followed the Bourbons until the unification of Italy in 1860.

List of Municipalities of the Metropolitan City:

Metropolitan city Palermo

some options for your holiday

Sicily region
... Provinces

Provinces where the territory is currently divided