Tourism and Holidays in Lombardy

Wednesday October 18 2017
Lombardy - Italy list of municipalities holidays and festivals what to see Italian municipalities in Lombardy Map-map towers and castles where to sleep holiday in Lombardy guide to art cities palaces and monuments
info Lombardia

Italy, discover Lombardy

Italy > Lombardy
Italian municipalities

Visit Lombardy

ITALY: Useful information and tour guide

... List of municipalities

To get a list of municipalities through the initial letter of name:

Lombardy region


Lombardy region

Piazza di Lombardia City, 1
20124 Milan
Phone: 02 67651

URP: 800 318318
Fax: 02 67655503
Certified email:

General Information

Nation: Italy
capital City: Milano
12 provinces
1.528 Municipality
surface: 23.855,45 sq km
Population: 9.922.551 inhabitants
Density: 415 inhabitants per square km

Lombardy is an administrative region with an ordinary statute northwestern Italy, established in 1948.

It has more than ten million inhabitants in its 12 1528 provinces and municipalities, has its capital in the city of Milan and is bordered to the north with Switzerland (Ticino and Grisons / Graubünden) to the west with Piedmont, on the east by Veneto and the Trentino-Alto Adige / Südtirol, while to the south it borders with Emilia-Romagna.

The name, symbol, and the territory of Lombardy hide an ancient history and tormented, made of invasions and devastation, division and strife but also of collaborations, co-habitation and development.

A land on which have passed and you are allocated, over the millennia, many peoples who, with their customs and their culture, have given rise to the current Lombardy.

The town's name (probably derived from the Germanic-word Lombard, Langbardland or Langbardaland that through successive translations, latinizzazioni, and italianizzazioni has been transformed first into Langbard, then Longobardia Langobardia or until the current Lombardy) means "Land of the Lombards" or the land of the people of Germanic origin who in AD 568 invaded Italy and made Pavia the capital of his kingdom, and originally meant a larger territory than the current one.

In geographic terms, the Lombardy can not be considered a unitary territory, meaning the area bounded by precise physical configurations, both for the variety of landscapes that cross it without enclosing it, or because the administrative borders, very often, are the result of complex historical events.

However, it is possible to outline in broad terms its territory through administrative relief, lakes and rivers.

To refine your Lombardy in the north you can use alpine watershed between the Valtellina and the valleys of the Rhine and the Inn even if, at times, the border crosses the Valtellina side.

To the east are Lake Garda and the river Mincio to separate Lombardy from other Italian regions; as well as south of the Po (except for the Oltrepò Pavese and the Oltrepò Mantua that extend to the south), and west of Lake Maggiore and the Ticino (with the exception of Lomellina that strays towards Piedmont) can serve to distinguish the Lombardy from the other regions.

These boundaries enclose an area of ​​just under 24.000 ² km, making it the fourth region for surface extension.

On a journey through the region, from north to south, they meet along the way for the early relief of the Alps, just south of the foothills of the Alps followed by gentle hills cant transition from the mountains to the Po Valley.

Just down the foothills of the Alps are some of the largest lakes in Italy (such as Lake Garda, Lake Maggiore and Lake Como), while several rivers (such as the Po, the Adda, the Oglio, the Mincio and Ticino) and streams run through the mountains, forming narrow and deep valleys, and crossing the plains, making it lush vegetation.

In a small area south Oltrepò stand hills and mountains of the northern Apennines.

Municipalities Province of Bergamo (242)

Municipalities Province of Brescia (205)

Municipalities Province of Como (154)

Municipalities Province of Cremona (115)

List of municipalities of the Metropolitan City of Milan (134)

Municipalities Province of Pavia (188)

Municipalities Province of Varese (139)

Lombardy ... Provinces

Provinces where the territory is currently divided.

Some tourist areas

... Getting there and around

Airports - Flights

port calls by passenger ferry