Tourism and Holidays in Basilicata

Saturday December 16 2017
Bed and Breakfast in Basilicata
info Basilicata

Italy, discover Basilicata

Italy > Basilicata
Italian municipalities

Visit Basilicata

Useful information and tour guide

Basilicata region

Via Vincenzo Verrastro, 4
85100 Power
Phone: 800 292020

URP: 0971 668136
Fax: 0971 668154
Certified email:

General Information

Nation: Italy
capital City: Potenza
2 provinces
131 Municipality
surface: 10.025,07 sq km
Population: 568.542 inhabitants
Density: 56 inhabitants per square km

Basilicata, also called Lucania, is a region of Southern Italy with about 600.000 inhabitants.
It is bordered to the south east by the Ionian Sea (Gulf of Taranto), to the east by Apulia, Campania to the west, south-west by the Tyrrhenian Sea and on the south by Calabria.

The four largest cities are Power (capital of the region and province) and Matera (the provincial capital), Melfi and Policoro city is not the capital but have a great economic importance in the region.
The "historical region" called Lucania also includes a large area currently in Campania (Cilento and Vallo di Diano), but also in Calabria (part of Cosentino) and Puglia (some common Taranto and Foggia).

The territory is mostly mountainous Basilicata (46,8%).
The main reliefs of the Lucanine Apennine are: Serra Dolcedorme (2267 m), Pollen (2248 m), Sirino (2007 m), Papa (2000 m), Volturino (1836 m), Serranet (1472 m).

In the northwestern region of the region there is a volcano off, Mount Vulture.
The hills are the 45,13% of the territory and are of clay, which are subject to erosion that result in landslides.

The plains occupy only the 8% of the territory.
The largest is the plain of Metaponto which occupies the southern part of the region, along the Ionian coast.
The lucane rivers are tormented and are the Bradano, the Basento, the Agri, the Sinni and the Cavone.

Among the lakes, to Monticchio has volcanic origins, while those of Stone Pertusillo, San Giuliano and Monte Cotugno were constructed artificially to produce electricity.
The coasts of the Ionian coast is low and sandy, while those of the Tyrrhenian coast is high and rocky.

The climate is Mediterranean on the coast and on the continental mountain ranges.
Basilicata has great environmental diversity, it could be divided into different 5 zones; In fact, to the north-east is the area of ​​Vulture-Melfese with characteristics of mostly flat-gravel plots, while in the Vulture area we have alternating woods and vines; To the north-northwest the Potentine with a prevalence of forests and mountains with an average height of 1200-1500 meters; In the center we have the maternal hill that has a hill and high hill with a large presence of brown clays and badgers; Southwest there is the Lagronegrese and Pollino which represents the true Lucanian mountain with heights even higher than the 2000 meters and a strong presence of forests and forests; Finally south-south-east we have Metapontino which is a vast alluvial plain where industrial intensive agriculture is cultivated and a type of low and sandy coast.

Basilicata region

... List of municipalities

To get a list of municipalities through the initial letter of name:

Basilicata ... Provinces

Provinces where the territory is currently divided.

Municipalities in the Province
Municipalities in the Province

Some tourist areas


Beach holidays in Basilicata
... The coastal municipalities

... Getting there and around

Airports - Flights

Aeroporto di Bari - Palese

port calls by passenger ferry

Porto di Bari